October 27, 2021
IPL 2020

Mumbai Indians Squad for IPL 2020

Mumbai Indians squad 2020

On the back of an all-conquering 2019 campaign, the Mumbai Indians Squad for IPL 2020 has a lot to live up to. So, as the four-time champions go in search of a fifth crown, let’s take a quick look at the players entrusted with bringing yet more success to the Wankhede Stadium.

Mahela Jayawardene’s Settled Squad

When it comes to team building, the franchise’s philosophy could well be summed up by the adage that if it ain’t broke don’t fix it. Staying true to form, for the 2020 season, the Mumbai Indians have retained 15 members of the squad that delivered a record fourth IPL title in 2019.

In the batting ranks, captain Rohit Sharma will once again be joined by Ishan Kishan, Suryakumar Yadav, Quinton de Kock, Aditya Tare, and Anmolpreet Singh.

Meanwhile, in terms of all-rounders, Kieron Pollard, Hardik Pandya, Krunal Pandya, Jayant Yadav, and Anukul Roy all return.

What is more, the champion’s bowling attack remains intimidating. On this front, leading light Jasprit Bumrah will again be supported by Lasith Malinga, Mitchell McClenaghan, and Rahul Chahar.

Reinforcing the Squad with Trades

To the established core of 15 retained players, the Mumbai Indians added Sherfane Rutherford, Trent Boult, and Dhawal Kulkarni via trades.

Released Players

All in all, the Mumbai Indians saw fit to release 12 of their 2019 roster. Of this number, Mayank Markande and Siddhesh Lad were both traded out, while Yuvraj Singh called time on his storied career. Other than the loss of the legendary all-rounder, Elvin Lewis, Alzarri Joseph, and Jason Behrendorff are perhaps the most notable departures for the 2020 season.

Auction Additions

Heading into the 2020 IPL auction, the Mumbai Indians had a budget of 13.05 crore to fill a maximum of 7 squad positions. Of the available kitty, the lion’s share was shelled out on the explosive talents of Australian quick Nathan Coulter-Nile and the big-hitting Chris Lynn.

In addition to those headline-grabbing signings, Saurabh Tiwary, Mohsin Khan, Digvijay Deshmukh, and Prince Balwant Rai Singh were also recruited by the reigning IPL champions.

Mumbai Indians squad 2020

Full Mumbai Indians Squad for IPL 2020

In total, the Mumbai Indians squad numbers 24 players. Of those, 16 are home-grown talents, while 8 are foreign imports.

BatsmenRohit Sharma, Ishan Kishan, Suryakumar Yadav, Quinton de Kock, Aditya Tare, Anmolpreet Singh, Chris Lynn, Mohsin Khan, Saurabh Tiwary.


Kieron Pollard, Sherfane Rutherford, Hardik Pandya, Krunal Pandya, Jayant Yadav, Anukul Roy, Prince Balwant Rai Singh


Jasprit Bumrah, Lasith Malinga, Mitchell McClenaghan, Rahul Chahar, Trent Boult, Dhawal Kulkarni, Digvijay Deshmukh, Nathan Coulter-Nile.