October 27, 2021
IPL 2021

KKR retains 17 players for IPL 2021- Here is the full list of KKR’s retained & released players

IPL 2021 is closer than ever and the preparations of franchises are faster than ever. With the time between the previous IPL season (season 13) and the current IPL season (IPL 2021) being low, the teams and the board are fast tracking the process. The announcement for the players released and retained has been made recently and the auction for IPL 2021 has been scheduled for February 18th, 2021.

All the teams have made their selections and released the lists out of which CSK and KKR stood out as they have retained the highest number of players than any other team. Chennai Super Kings stood first in the list as it had retained a total of 18 players from the previous season. The Kolkata Knight Riders team retained 17 of their previous players, stood second.

Kolkata Knight Riders was one of the most unpredictable teams in IPL 2020. The team had wonderful players who can perform extremely well under pressure but ended up in the fifth position in the previous season. With a blend of the best batsmen, All Rounders, and bowlers in the world, KKR possesses the potential to cinch the trophy any given day with its current team.

This might be the reason the team had retained most of its players and made room for only some. The team retained Eoin Morgan, Andre Russell, Dinesh Karthik, Kuldeep Yadav, Lockie Ferguson, Nitish Rana, Sandeep Warrier, Shubhman Gill, Sunil Narine, Pat Cummins, Rahul Tripathi, Varun Chakravarthy, Kamlesh Nagarkoti, Rinku Singh, Shivam Mari, Prasidh Krishna, and Tim Seifert.

The list of released players includes Chris Green, Harry Gurney, M Siddharth, Nikhil Naik, Siddhesh Lad, and Tom Banton.

While a team formed from the retained players looks almost perfect, it will be interesting to see which players the KKR team ropes in during the auction that is scheduled on February 18th.