January 22, 2022
IPL 2020

IPL 2020 Champions – Mumbai Indians beat Delhi Capitals and clinched their fifth IPL title

ipl winners 2020

The much-loved season of the Indian Premier League, the Dream 11 IPL 2020, a month and half long brilliant tournament concluded with MI lifting the cup and adding another title to its name. A team that is said to win only the odd years destroyed the jinx and managed to show that it will remain the best.

Although the season was full of unpredictability and turnarounds, towards the end it became arguably the most one-sided season and MI’s win didn’t come as a surprise as it had already defeated DC in all the matches this season. With the top batsmen and star bowlers, the team had always delivered clinical and stellar performances.

Staying on the top of the table for the longest time, when other teams were constantly battling for the top positions, was no easy feat but MI not only proved to be the best performing team of the season but also took home a well-deserved victory. The players had their best game on as they put up a tough fight and squashed DC in the final.

MI is the second team after Chennai to have successfully defended the title by winning two consecutive seasons. Out of the 6 IPL finals that MI has played in, it has the most number of wins and is undoubtedly one of the fiercest teams of IPL. The final saw a battle between IPL’s Most successful captain Rohith Sharma and Shreyas Iyer, the youngest captain to take a team to finals. And in this battle of the seasoned vs energetic, the experience of playing the most number of finals, clearly took the driver’s seat.

MI were off to a cracking start right from the beginning of the match and kept the energy flowing till the end. Having restricted DC to a mere 156 run figure, the bowlers of MI contributed a lot to its victory. Trent Boult starred with the ball as he scalped 3 wickets and was named the player of the match. Jayant Yadav got Shikhar Dhawan, a crucial player and ripped off a big hitter from DC. DC lost wickets very early on into the match and that was a big blow for them to get over.

ipl 2020 winners

Needing to chase a target of 157 runs to win the game, Rohit Sharma, the captain who completed 4000 IPL runs for MI, attacked the ball with all his might. It was Rohith Sharma’s 200th IPL match and the milestone might have worked it’s magic as he scored 68 runs with a strike rate 133.33. His third half century of the season took MI past the hundred run mark. Quinton de Kock, alongside Rohith, aced the game with his excellent batting, taking MI to 45/0 after 4 overs.

With 18 points at the end of the league matches and 9 wins from the 14 matches they played, the players of MI had always put up a united front and this helped the team to take DC down. Thanks to the contribution of each player, MI came through with a thunderous victory. It has been a magnificent campaign that ended with a dominant victory.