October 27, 2021
IPL 2020

IPL 2020: A Look into Each Team’s Ace Player

Dream11 IPL 2020

The most loved tournament IPL is back with a bang! The matches are going to commence from September 19, 2020 in the UAE after a huge gap of 6 months from is actual schedule. Since the announcement of the news, fans are eagerly waiting for their favourite squads to perform.

Every year, a lot of experts make predictions about many things and it has become a ritual. The same has begun this year and analyses regarding teams with the highest scope of winning this season and which franchises have ace players.

Let’s have a look over the records of the few best players to understand why they have bagged the unofficial title of ACE players of the IPL tournament.

CSK – MS Dhoni:
Our captain cool who does justice to the saying- “Anhoni ko honi kar de, honi ko anhoni, nam hai inka, MAHENDRA SINGH DHONI!”, undoubtedly is an ace player in the IPL history. He led his team to win the IPL Trophy 3 times and has played a total of 190 matches in the IPL with a score of 4,432 runs. He has an excellent average of 42.40 and 137.85, a good strike rate in the IPL. He has the experience of most final games in the IPL as he has been a part of nine finals out of 12 IPL seasons to date.

MI – Rohit Sharma
Rohit Sharma is one of the leading run-scorers in IPLs. In the 188 matches that Rohit Sharma has played in IPL, he has scored 4,898 runs at an average of 31.60 and a strike rate of 130.82, with a century and 36 fifties. His best score has been an unbeaten 109 in the 2012 edition of IPL. He led his team to victory in the finals in four ultimate seasons.

SRH – David Warner
He’s one of the most consistent batsmen and has set the still-standing record for the highest individual score by a captain when he scored 126 off just 59 balls against KKR in Match 37 of the 10th edition of the IPL. He has won the Orange Cap twice in 2015 and 2017. He has scored 1169 runs at the stadium in Hyderabad in just 24 innings, averaging a stunning 64.94 with a devastating strike rate of 162.36.

RCB-Virat Kohli
He is one of the most prolific batsmen in the IPL. The current Indian captain has played all the IPL seasons and is currently the leading run-scorer in IPL with 5412 runs. He went on to make many records like Most runs in a season in IPL – 973 runs in 2016 IPL, most centuries in a season – Four centuries in 2016 IPL, and is also the most expensive player in IPL history – 17 crores INR.

KKR -Andre Russel
Andre Russell is the only player to have taken four wickets in four balls in the T20s. He did it against India in 2013. He has been honoured as the IPL Most Valuable Player 2015 and IPL Most Valuable Player and Maximum Sixes award in 2019.
He was named the Man of the Match thrice in that edition of the IPL. His three fifties that season gained him tally 326 runs at an astonishing strike-rate of 192. He also was adjudged as the MVP of the 2015 IPL.

RR-Ben Stokes
He has been honoured with many awards because of the unbeatable records made by him, few of them are; Most runs in a Test innings at the sixth position – 258 runs, Second-fastest Test double hundred in terms of balls faced, The second-highest number of sixes in a Test inning – 11. Stokes was acquired by the Rising Pune Super giants for Rs 14.5 crore for the 2017 season. He made his maiden T20 century when he scored 103 not out. In the 2017 season, Stokes was awarded the Man of The Match trophy a total of three times in 14 matches. Ben Stokes was the most expensive player in the 2018 IPL auction as he was bought by Rajasthan Royals for Rs 12.5 crores.

Delhi Capitals -Ajinkya Rahane
Rajasthan Royals batsman Ajinkya Rahane achieved two unique records in Indian Premier League (IPL). He became the first batsman to score 1,000-plus runs at Jaipur in IPL history and he overtook Rohit Sharma by hitting the second-highest run score against the Delhi Capitals, also he has hit 3000 runs for the Rajasthan Royals and became the first player to achieve the milestone.

8 Kings XI Punjab – Ashwin
Ravichandran Ashwin is predominantly known for his spin bowling.
In 2017, Ashwin overtook Aussie legend Dennis Lillee by becoming the fastest player to reach 250 wickets (in 45 Tests). With 82 wickets in the 2016-17 season, he surpassed Dale Steyn’s record for the most scalps in a single season.

All these players are among record holders and are great achievers earning them a place in the list of ACE PLAYERS of the IPL tournament.

To watch these performers, catch the entire 13th IPL Season Live on YuppTV from Australia, Sri Lanka, Malaysia, Continental Europe (excluding UK & Ireland), South & Central America, Central Asia, and South East Asia (except Singapore). Download the YuppTV App to watch IPL Live on Smartphones and Smart Televisions. You can watch the entire IPL Live for free with a subscription to any of the Indian Channel yearly packages on YuppTV.