January 22, 2022
Cricket Series

India Tour of West Indies 2019 Schedule

India tour of West Indies 2019

BCCI recently announced the schedule of India’s tour of West Indies in August. The Indian team will play 3 T20s, 3 ODIs, and 2 Tests from 03rd of August to 03rd September in West Indies and the United States. It has been in the reports that Virat Kohli will be leading the team in all three formats. MS Dhoni was excluded out of the team after he has announced his decision to spend the next two months with his regiment.

Young players like Shreyas Iyer, Washington Sundar, Manish Pandey, and Navdeep Saini have made it into the team along with Shikhar Dhawan who has fully recovered from his Thumb Injury, Rohit Sharma, Ajinkya Rahane, Jasprit Bumrah, Ravindra Jadeja, Rishabh Pant, KL Rahul, Mohammad Shami, Ishant Sharma, Kuldeep Yadav, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Deepak Chahar, Rahul Chahar, Krunal Pandya, Khaleel Ahmed, etc. Hardik Pandya had been rested for the whole tour and the team will be led by Virat Kohli in all three formats.

India tour of West Indies 2019

India’s star Bowler Jasprit Bumrah will only be available for Tests and Yuzvendra Chahal is restricted to ODIs. With the inclusion of young players in the team, the selection committee hopes to resolve the NO.4 Problem in the Indian team. The lack of a strong middle order was evident in the team’s performance in World Cup 2019 where India had lost to New Zealand in the Semi-Finals.

The T20 squad of West Indies has been announced of which Carlos Braithwaite is the Captain. Players like Sheldon Cottrell, Sunil Narine, Keemo Paul, Kieron Pollard, Nicholas Pooran, Andre Russell, Oshane Thomas, Shimron Hetmeyer, etc., are a part of T20 Squad. The Test and ODI squads will be announced soon.

The first and second T20s are scheduled on 03rd August and 04th August 2019 in Central Broward Regional Park Stadium Turf Ground, Lauderhill, Florida. The third T20 is scheduled on 04th August in Providence Stadium, Guyana. The three ODI’s are scheduled on August 08th, 11th, and 14th respectively. The first and second tests will begin on 22nd and 30th August respectively. The tour lasts exactly for a month and will end on 03rd September 2019.