October 27, 2021
Cricket Series

India creates history by winning a Test in Gabba, Australia after 32 Long Years

The Border Gavaskar Test that is happening between India and Australia has come to an end with India seizing a historic victory in The Gabba Stadium. India became the first team to beat Australia in the Gabba Stadium for three decades. The place was reputed to be a fortress for Australia since no international cricket team has beaten the Australian team in The Gabba, Brisbane since 1988.

The Border Gavaskar series that commenced at the end of November 2020 comprised of 3 ODIs, 3 T20Is, and 4 Test matches of which Australia won the ODI series 2-1, India stood victorious in the T20I series 2-1. India faced a rather brutal defeat in the first test in Adelaide recording its lowest ever Test total (36/10) after playing 543 international test matches. But the team struck back in the second test in Melbourne and seized a victory of 8 wickets.

The third test that happened in Sydney was a draw leaving the final test to be the decision-maker. The final test was scheduled from 15th January in The Gabba stadium, which was known to be an Australian fortress. The test started with Australia Batting first and ending the first innings at 369/10. Indian team who batted next reached a total of 336/10 which gave Australia a lead in the second innings.

The Australian team managed to score 294/10 in the second innings leaving India a target of 328 runs. Indian Bowlers Shardul Thakur and Mohammad Siraj played a key role in restricting Australia’s score by seizing 4 and 5 wickets respectively.

The Indian batsmen perfectly backed the bowlers with an amazing innings. Batsmen Shubhman Gill, Cheteshwar Pujara, and Rishabh Pant scored 91, 56, and 89 each and took team India a stupendous victory. Rishabh Pant was named the player of the match for his match-winning 89. Cheteshwar Pujara, the man who stood like a wall before the Australian team through the entire test series was praised for his performance.

Pujara broke many past records in the series and has emerged as one of the best players in the series. Notable performances came from Bowlers Washington Sundar (62) and Shardul Thakur (67) who stood out to be the highest run-scorers in the first innings followed by Rohit Sharma (44). The duo also took three wickets each along with T Natarajan in the first innings.