January 22, 2022
ICC World Cup 2019

ICC Cricket World Cup 2019 Teams and Squads

Cricket World Cup 2019 Squads

The most prestigious cricket tournament in the world, ICC Cricket World Cup is scheduled to begin from 30th May. England is hosting the tournament for the fifth time this year and the matches are going to take place in 8 venues across England and Wales. 10 teams will be participating in the tournament which will be played in a Round robin and Knockout format this year.

The teams, namely England, Australia, India, Pakistan, New Zealand, South Africa, Sri Lanka, Bangladesh, Afghanistan, and West Indies have qualified for the tournament. Australia is entering the tournament as defending champion. Afghanistan and West Indies have qualified for the tournament through World Cup Qualifier held in 2018 and the rest of the teams qualified through ICC ODI Championships.

All the teams have announced their squads and this world cup the audience is going to witness some of the top-notch players in action fighting for their countries. England, the favorite of the tournament has some fantastic players like Eoin Morgan, Johnny Bairstow, Jos Butler, Ben Stokes, Moeen Ali, Chris Woakes, Tom Curran, Jofra Archer, Joe Root, etc.

Australia has David Warner, Aaron Finch, Steven Smith, Shaun Marsh, Marcus Stoinis, Nathan Coulter- Nile, Glenn Maxwell, Mitchell Starc, Pat Cummins, etc. The Indian team comprises of players like MS Dhoni, Virat Kohli, Rohit Sharma, Shikhar Dhawan, Kedhar Jadhav, Hardik Pandya, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Jasprit Bumrah, KL Rahul, etc. Pakistan comprises of Shoaib Malik, Sarfaraz Ahmed, Babar Azam, Imam- Ul-Haq, Fakhar Zaman, Hasan Ali, etc.

Another favorite team of the season New Zealand comprises of players like Kane Williamson, Trent Boult, Martin Guptill, Colin Munro, Mitchell Santner, Tim Southee, Ross Taylor, etc. South African team has players like Faf Du Plessis, Quinton De Kock, David Miller, JP Duminy, Hashim Amla, Kagiso Rabada, Dale Steyn, Lungi Ngidi, Imran Tahir, etc.

Sri Lankan Team has Angelo Mathews, Thisara Perera, Kusal Perera, Kusal Mendis, Dhananjaya De Silva, Suranga Lakmal, Lasith Malinga, Nuwan Pradeep, Suranga Lakmal, etc. Bangladesh team comprises of Mashrafe Mortaza, Tamim Iqbal, Liton Das, Soumya Sarkar, Mushfiqur Rahim, Mahmudullah Riyad, Shakib Al Hasan, Mosaddek Hossain, Rubel Hossain, Mustafizur Rahman, etc.

The young team of the lot, Afghanistan consists of Gulbadin Naib, Mohammad Shahzad, Hazratullah Zazai, Asghar Afghan, Mohammad Nabi, Rashid Khan, Mujeeb Ur Rahman, etc. West Indies is the most veteran team of the tournament in 2019 comprising players like Jason Holder, Chris Gayle, Carlos Braithwaite, Darren Bravo, Andre Russell, Oshane Thomas, Shimron Hetmeyer, etc.

All the teams are at their best and are highly motivated to win the world cup this year. 48 matches will be played between the teams in which only one winner will emerge. The final match will be played in Lord’s Stadium in London. The tournament will be broadcast and streamed live on various channels and OTT platforms around the world. The 2015 World Cup has drawn over 1.5 billion viewers from around the world. This year’s World Cup is expected to draw even more numbers.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *