October 27, 2021
ICC World Cup 2019

ICC Cricket World Cup 2019 – Australia All Set to Defend Their Title

ICC cricket world cup is scheduled to be played from 30th May to 14th July 2019 in England and Wales. The 12th edition of the most awaited quadrennial cricket championship will be contested between 10 international teams. The first 45 matches will be in round-robin format. The top 4 teams based on points table after these games will play 2 knock-out semi-finals. The finalists will compete in the 48th game on 14th July to decide the ODI champions of the world.

With Ireland and Zimbabwe ruled out, this is the first world cup when all the test cricket teams are not participating. The defending champions, Australia are one of the favorites too win the tournament. England, who’ve been on the rise since past 1 year or so and India with many match winners in the team are the other 2 most likely teams to pick up the trophy. All the squads have already reached England and have completed playing their 2 warm-up matches.

Australia ICC World Cup team 2019

The 15 members Australian squad was announced in April. To much relief of the fans as well as the Australian selectors, David Warner and Steve Smith looked in great touch during IPL post lifting of the bans on them. With their return, the team looks great for the world cup as it has a perfect mix of young talent and experienced stalwarts. With Warner back in contention, he’ll be opening alongside Finch, who’s also hit some good form lately after his troubles against Indian pace attack. At number 3, the Australian team has a choice between Shaun Marsh and Usman Khawaja. Numbers 4 and 5 spots will be for the 2 all-rounders, Glenn Maxwell, and Marcus Stoinis. Their positions will be decided depending upon the pitch, opposition, and the game situation. Alex Carey, the wicket keeper has got the talent to fit in anywhere in the batting line up as he’s even opened in some ODIs. The bowling department looks well balanced with Jason Behrendorff, Kane Richardson, Nathan Coulter-Nile, Mitchell Starc and Pat Cummins in the pace attack duly supported by Stoinis. The spin duo of experienced offie Nathan Lyon and the quickish leg spinner Adam Zampa will try to get some zip from the wickets. Maxwell and Smith may also be used to fill in the 5th bowling option.