January 22, 2022
Cricket Series

Ashes Series 2019 between England and Australia to begin from 1st August

Ashes test Series 2019

The highly regarded Ashes test series between England and Australia is taking place in England from August 1st.

The Ashes is a test series comprising of five tests played between Australia and England in either England or Australia every year. The series that initially began in 1882 in which Australia stood victorious against England on English soil. The name Ashes had been in usage since then as an obituary in a Newspaper stated that with the victory of Australia England had died and will be cremated. England’s captain Ivo Bligh, before playing the test against Australia in 1883, vowed that he would regain those Ashes and after England’s victory in Australia, the name became official for the series.

The Ashes series is one of the most highly regarded traditions between both the nations and is a matter of pride. Currently, Australia is the defending champion of the series. England and Australia played a total of 70 series as of 2018 and Australia won 33 of them and England had won 32 while 5 tests resulted in a tie.

Ashes test Series 2019

Ashes 2019 series also consists of 5 tests organized in Edgbaston, Lord’s, Headingley, Old Trafford, and The Oval. The first test begins on the 1st of August, the second from 14th, third from 22nd, fourth from 4th of September, and fifth from 12th of September. For the five tests in the current series, Joe Root is leading the England team and Tim Paine is leading the Australia side.

The England team comprises of Joe Root, Ben Stokes, Moeen Ali, James Anderson, Jofra Archer, Jonny Bairstow, Stuart Broad, Rory Burns, Jos Butler, Sam Curran, Joe Denly, Jason Roy, Olly Stone, and Chris Woakes. Australia team comprises of Tim Paine, Pat Cummins, Travis Head, Cameron Bancroft, Marcus Harris, Josh Hazlewood, Usman Khawaja, Marnus Labuschagne, Nathan Lyon, Mitchell Marsh, Michael Neser, James Pattinson, Peter Siddle, Steve Smith, Mitchell Starc, Matthew Wade, and David Warner.